RANDOM MESSENGERS

Today I would like to talk about those random inbox messages we receive from the opposite sex. It’s annoying right? Everyday it’s something different. If your inbox looks anything like mine…you get messages from the same people. You NEVER respond and they NEVER get the picture! I wish they would just go away! In the past I would curse them out and say mean things, but as I got older I learned that there’s a better way to handle it. Especially when you have a certain profession(s). You don’t want to say the wrong thing to the wrong person. There is a better way to handle the ones that you aren’t quite sure about. I use this every time I receive a message from some random individual male or female.

I received an inbox from an individual recently and I wasn’t sure if he was trying to make conversation hoping for a phone number. He started asking personal questions…things that I didn’t feel he needed to know. I became annoyed pretty fast and you want to know how I responded? I didn’t catch an attitude…even though that would’ve been the easiest thing to do. Instead I responded with this…“Is this conversation leading towards a business related opportunity? If not, I don’t see any reason why this information is important to know.” The response that I received wasn’t negative. He respected my wishes and moved on. Everyone won’t respond the same though. Some people you will have to use the blocking feature. And that’s okay because nobody should be hounding you like that!

You have to be careful in how you communicate. You never know who you could be entertaining. It could be the BIG BREAK you have been waiting for, but your attitude could throw it all away. Find out what works best for you. Make your point, stand firm on it, but remain professional. You could be entertaining your business partner!

 

Alicia E. Andrews

Leave a Reply

